Catharsis

As evidenced by the starting of this blog and many of my posts on Facebook and Twitter, I have recently become more and more passionate about changing what I feel are fundamental flaws in this country’s education policy. Also in the last few weeks, I have been overly frustrated in the classroom. After doing some reflection last weekend, I realized that these two things were linked at the hip.

While my students were taking the ‘First 9-weeks common assessment’ (not supposed to use the term ‘benchmark’), I did some more reflecting and actually drafted a letter (the body of which is below). I addressed this letter first and foremost to my students because it was important to me to man up and admit that I had not been holding up my end of the bargain.

After typing up the letter (the original copy was on a healthy stack of post-it notes since I couldn’t have my computer on during testing), I immediately emailed it to my principal (scary) and decided project it on my smart-board the next day so each of my students could read it and I could explain what had been going on.

Is my frustration going to immediately abate? Certainly not. But I have made a commitment to not allow that frustration to enter into my classroom. Will there be decisions made by the administration, superintendent, state, whatever that I don’t agree with? Probably on a near-daily basis. But, in the here and now, I have to deal with those decisions and continue moving forward with my students in the best way that I know how. The changes that I am trying to talk about are not going to happen over night and I have to accept that.

My students…past, present and future…deserve my best. And I intend to give it to them.

—-

Here is the unedited letter I wrote:

In the last few weeks, I have done you a disservice…and for that I apologize.  I have allowed some things I’m working on outside of school to color my attitude during school. These things I’m working on still relate to education, but I am going to make a commitment to turn those things off while I’m here with you each day. 

My expectations for each of you have not changed.  I truly believe that each of you can and will be successful in this class and all your classes.

I will be making some changes to how the class runs each day and my hope is that these changes will benefit each of you. You’ll be turning in a little more work during class and you’ll be able to track your progress a little easier on a day to day basis.

If there are any suggestions you have or if there is something I can do for you, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Again, I apologize for not being the teacher you deserve over the last couple weeks. I will strive to make things right and improve each day.

Sincerely,

~Hamric

One comment

  1. The resulting discussion with your students will be interesting. For me, the life skill & ability to focus is an on-going quest & the sooner it’s learned, the better. In this situation, your students (some at least?) may also have issues to ‘check at the door’ – hard family life, fight w BFF etc etc.

Leave a Reply

Dad Gone Wild

My thoughts on public education and the world we live in.

Teachers' Letters to Bill Gates

Educators from the US and beyond: please share your teaching stories with Mr. Bill Gates. How have the policies of the Gates Foundation influenced your classroom, your students, your teaching, your schools, and your communities?

Crazy Normal - the Classroom Exposé

An insider's look at education, teaching, parenting and coming of age.

David R. Taylor-Thoughts on Education

My thoughts about public education in the State of Texas

Cloaking Inequity

A blog focused on education policy and social justice

The Mafia of Good Intentions

Addressing the Root Causes of America's Underperforming Pubic Schools

Dog in Balance

the DOG blog that can help YOU

The Mind of Hammy

Thoughts and opinions on just about anything

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

