But….I’m from (fill in the blank)

It would be safe to say that I teach in a considerably-less-than-affluent part of town. The other day, I was reviewing a quiz and on a particular question and I asked those who got it wrong if they understood why. I had one student say ‘because we go to <name of the school>’.

Some backstory might be appropriate, but you can probably guess where I’m going before I even get started. Traditionally, this has been a low-performing school in the district. This is my first year at this school, but from what I understand there was little in the way of expectations placed on the students from some of the teachers. So, the reaction to the school’s test scores in the last few years seemed to be ‘Well, that’s just the students we have to work with’.

(Probably a good time for a disclaimer…as stated above, this is my first year at this school and this analysis/opinion is purely my own and is based only on my observation and from various conversations I have had.)

My response to that student (and to any teacher or administrator who simply accepts scores because of surroundings), while inappropriate, is heartfelt:  ‘Bullshit.’

Now, look, I am not going to sit here and tell you that their surroundings at home or other factors do not affect a student’s school performance. Middle/high school teachers have as little as 45 minutes per day to make some kind of positive impact…which leaves 23 hours and 15 minutes for any other kind of impact. But we, as educators, must continually make our expectations clear. We must tell them, literally every day, that they can be just as successful as some kid from the northside. They may not believe it today, or next week, or next month or even by the end of the year. But if they hear it enough and from enough people maybe, just maybe, they can start believing in themselves.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is the first key step to learning and education. If we convince students that they can, then, in all likelihood, they will.

One comment

  1. We are fighting that mentality at our school right now. There is a particular teacher who makes excuses for her students, rather than hold them to high expectations, regardless of their abilities or documented ‘disabilities’. I have not actually confronted her, because she’s not actually under my supervision, but I suspect that her feelings toward these students is, “haven’t they been through enough?”

    I understand that her heart is in the right place, but she is not preparing the students for the wider world. HEB is not going to put them on an IEP when they’re hired and expect less work or a lower quality of work.

    Thank you for not accepting the excuses and helping the students find out not WHY they can’t, but HOW they can.

Leave a Reply

Dad Gone Wild

My thoughts on public education and the world we live in.

Teachers' Letters to Bill Gates

Educators from the US and beyond: please share your teaching stories with Mr. Bill Gates. How have the policies of the Gates Foundation influenced your classroom, your students, your teaching, your schools, and your communities?

Crazy Normal - the Classroom Exposé

An insider's look at education, teaching, parenting and coming of age.

David R. Taylor-Thoughts on Education

My thoughts about public education in the State of Texas

Cloaking Inequity

A blog focused on education policy and social justice

The Mafia of Good Intentions

Addressing the Root Causes of America's Underperforming Pubic Schools

Dog in Balance

the DOG blog that can help YOU

The Mind of Hammy

Thoughts and opinions on just about anything

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

