Doing what I can for them all…

…but, to be truthful, there are a few that truly keep me coming back each day.

<Before you keep reading, this post has nothing to do with education reform per se, but just had to get this out there>

Yesterday, had a young man miss my second period Algebra class because the Science Club went on a field trip to the UT Medical School in San Antonio. They got back just before the regular lunch period. But, as I dismissed my class, he came into my room with a big smile on his face wearing a shirt with a stethoscope as part of the design and ‘Future Doctor’ on the back. He pointed at the stethoscope and said ‘It’s a sign’.

He went on to tell me that his day isn’t the same if he has to miss my class, which is why he came by during lunch. So, we sat in my room and he told me about the trip (which included him being able to hold a preserved human heart in his hands). To have him take the time to come by and tell me about that meant more to me than I can say…and I told him so.

I have some difficult days, but with kids like him I know I’m making a difference. And I know I’m making a difference even with the tough cases. Had a very frank discussion a few days ago with a couple kids that have been hellions most of the year. Then, yesterday morning, those two kids showed up to my room 30 minutes before school started to get some tutoring and they both worked harder than I’ve ever seen work them during class. I hope that continues as well.

Teaching is the hardest thing I can imagine doing. But I can’t imagine doing anything else.

Leave a Reply

Dad Gone Wild

My thoughts on public education and the world we live in.

Teachers' Letters to Bill Gates

Educators from the US and beyond: please share your teaching stories with Mr. Bill Gates. How have the policies of the Gates Foundation influenced your classroom, your students, your teaching, your schools, and your communities?

Crazy Normal - the Classroom Exposé

An insider's look at education, teaching, parenting and coming of age.

David R. Taylor-Thoughts on Education

My thoughts about public education in the State of Texas

Cloaking Inequity

A blog focused on education and social justice

The Mafia of Good Intentions

Addressing the Root Causes of America's Underperforming Pubic Schools

Dog in Balance

the DOG blog that can help YOU

The Mind of Hammy

Thoughts and opinions on just about anything

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

